Student Impact Award

Students often benefit from the personal attention and caring of one or two faculty members they had in college.  This award will recognize faculty who had significant positive impact on undergraduate or graduate students in CASE.  This is not an award for excellence in teaching, but rather an award for faculty members who have helped students achieve important personal or professional goals, who have added great value to a student’s academic, personal, or professional trajectory, or who have otherwise positively influenced a student’s life. 

Faculty may be nominated by current students, alumni, or both.  Alumni will be notified of this opportunity to write a letter of nomination via the monthly Alumni Association e-newsletters.  Current students may also write letters of nomination, and will be notified of the opportunity via the student e-connection. Letters should not exceed three pages and should express the influence the nominee has had on the student’s life, career, and/or perspective.  Faculty should not solicit nomination letters from students currently in their classes, but may encourage former students to write nomination letters if they wish.  All letters should be submitted to


Number of awards and award amount

There will be up to two $700 awards per year.


Who is eligible to be nominated?

All CASE affiliated full-time ranked faculty and NTT faculty are eligible.

Current members of the Faculty Leadership Council and faculty who have won this award in the past three years are not eligible.  Past winners are listed below.


Timeline for 2024 awards:

March 15:            Nominating letter due to CASE Dean’s office. Submit to

April 10:          Faculty Leadership Council Awards Committee to submit recommendations to CASE Dean

April 15:          Nominees informed of decision

Winners will be recognized at the CASE College-wide meeting at the end of the Spring Semester.


Nomination materials:

  1. Nomination letter (1000 words max) should detail specific examples of how the nominee has made an impact upon you.
  2. Signature of nominator

2022 Winners

Kathryn Dolan
English & Technical Communication

Robin Verble
Biological Sciences

2021 Winners

Yu-Hsien Chiu
Business and Information Technology

Clair Kueny
Psychological Science

2020 Winners:


Diana Ahmad
History and Political Science
Current Student



Amber Henslee
Psychological Science